Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

13519397

Series: Throne of Glass #1

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

Rating: 4 stars

Warning: The end of this review contains spoilers.

Throne of Glass follows the story of Celaena Sardothien, Adarlan’s most lethal and feared assassin. Readers learn that after being betrayed, she was captured and made to serve out her punishment by working in the salt mines of Endovier. The cruel and unforgiving work camp for 17 year old Celaena was basically a death sentence. A year later, a small miracle occurs when the young assassin is presented with a proposition from none other than the Crown Prince of Adarlan. She must compete and win against thugs, murderers and thieves in a series of tasks that will test her abilities and competency for the role of the King’s Champion. If she wins, Celaena will be given the freedom she so deeply desires after serving as the King’s Champion for 4 years.

I enjoyed Throne of Glass, although it took me a little while to get into the story because in the beginning, I felt like there was a chunk of the story I’d already missed out on. Even so it wasn’t long before I got into the flow of the story, and warmed to Celaena’s character. I immediately got the impression that she was deadly, from her steely comments and brazen attitude so at first I was unsure about whether to like her but you soon find that she’s actually quite kind and her reputation of being an assassin kind of fades, you just see Celaena. I see her as a big kid who takes pleasure in the simple things in life.

I really liked Princess Nehemia, and the fact that she immediately clicked with Celaena. They’re quite similar and I think in a place where they’re seen as the ‘outsiders’, it was nice for them to be able to bond with someone who just understood. It made me laugh that they were kind of like a double act; people were always speechless around them, and it was like they were always in on a secret that no one else knew about. I love the journey that the events of this story takes their relationship on.

Overall I really liked the book, there wasn’t much I didn’t like, only that some parts were predictable, and the story got a bit slow in the middle. I think this may have been because there was a lot of focus on the development of the characters’ relationships which I think was important, but for me, this just kind of made the competition part of the story feel prolonged. But anyway the story developed into something so much more than what it had began with, and there’s definitely more to Celaena than what’s been revealed in this first book, so I can’t wait to read the sequel and see what the future holds for Celaena. I think any ya fantasy lovers, and fans of Sarah J. Maas would enjoy this!

Below I’m going to talk about Dorian and Chaol’s characters and can’t do so without spoiling some things, so if you haven’t read the book then please stop reading!

*SPOILER ALERT*

I was adamant on not saying whether I wanted Celaena to fall in love with Dorian or Chaol because I didn’t want to play into the whole #Team thing, and I really like the both of them. But I couldn’t resist, so much of the story involves their relationships with Celaena so I had to just say something (this is hilarious because this ‘something’ is shamelessly as long as my actual review).

So, I really like the idea of Dorian and Celaena being together, they have brilliant chemistry and he genuinely loves and cares about her. It made me smile when he left her a bag of candy on Yulemas morning, that was super sweet (excuse the pun), and it was fun reading the passages about the both of them together, so obviously it would be adorable if Dorian and Celaena fell in love. Plus, I kind of felt sorry for him when Celaena ended things between them at the end of the book.

And then there’s Chaol. He’s more harsh with her but that’s because of his job I think, and he’s trying to convince himself that he’s not supposed to become attached to the country’s most wanted assassin. And I don’t think he believes she’d ever want to be with someone like him anyway so that doesn’t help matters but I’m so certain they would be perfect together. They didn’t have the cute, flirty chemistry that she and Dorian had but I feel like they share a deeper understanding between them, something that doesn’t need to be spoken. Also, I think he’s low key sweet and funny and when he shows these sides it makes Celaena happy. Maybe it’s because I don’t want the cliché of the female protagonist falling in love with the obvious choice, I have no idea but right now it’s Chaol and Celaena who I want to fall in love with each other.

But anyway, more importantly, I’m actually glad that she’s not with anyone at the moment. She’s way more focused on her freedom and working towards that, which is how things should be! I think she should just continue to be friends with the both of them, and see what happens from there.

Leave a Reply

