Review: This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab

Review: This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab

30249934

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Rating: 5 stars

This book! It’s been a long time since I’ve experienced an overwhelming excitement about picking up my kindle to continue reading a story, or felt a buzz of anticipation knowing I’ll be seeing my favourite character again. This Savage Song has genuinely impressed me and become one of my favourite reads.

I really loved how easy it was to get into the story- the plot is so engaging. You have the politics  and war going on between those who live in the North and South of Verity City, fuelled by the ever growing problem of monsters being created whenever a human commits a serious act of violence. And then there’s Kate Harker- a seemingly tough as boots character whose puts on a façade that’s nearly as mysterious as August Flynn, a rare monster known as a Sunai. All of these things intertwine so perfectly to tell a thrilling ‘edge of your seat’ story.

And I have to say that pretty much from the get go, August became one of my favourite characters. At first I couldn’t put my finger on why I liked him so much but as the story progressed, I found myself doting on him and wanted to do everything to help him find himself. August really struggled with his identity; he didn’t want to just fit in but to truly understand what it meant to be human, to feel all the things any human would. But the thing is, August has such a good heart. He is what he is- a monster, but he is gentle and kind and his conscience doesn’t allow him to easily bring harm harm to others. Meanwhile, there are humans in this book who fail to display a shred of humanity, and so to me they’re the real monsters. I so wanted him to see that what you are doesn’t matter, it’s your actions and words and qualities that make up who you are. So yeah, I really had a soft spot for August. I also really loved his sister, Ilsa. She was so unusual and kind and gentle. I’m so glad August had her.

So yes I would 100% recommend this incredible book! Seriously, go read it if you haven’t already! It was so much fun to read and I honestly can’t wait for the sequel to be released.

Leave a Reply

