Review: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Review: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

23573399

Genres: Young Adult, Romance

Main themes: Loss, Love

Rating: 3 stars

Lennie’s world will never be the same after her older sister Bailey has passed away unexpectedly, leaving poor Lennie at a complete loss. However, a grieving Lennie’s life becomes a lot more complicated with the arrival of charismatic new guy, Joe Fontaine, in addition to some strange and undeniably crazy feelings towards Toby, her sister’s boyfriend. This story shows us how Lennie adjusts to a world without her vibrant and shining sister in it.  

After reading and loving I’ll Give You Sun, Nelson’s lyrical and entrancing narrative was what I had looked forward to when starting this book. However, I’d be lying if I said that I wasn’t disappointed. Not because of the writing style; I wouldn’t necessarily fault the way in which the story was told but for me, it was a bit too childish. I wish I could have put it more delicately, but it was exactly what on my mind for the majority of the story. A lot of parts just made me cringe, due to the unrealistic nature of some conversations or situations (for me anyway).

So this book took me a while to get through. The characters were okay, but sometimes they felt a little too YA cliché, especially with Rachel, Sarah and even Joe at times. This may have been why I found some parts so cringey but having said that, I did like the introduction of Joe’s character. The sunshine he brought into Lennie’s house was much needed and enjoyed. 

I liked being able to explore the process of Lennie’s grief because I’ve never been in her position before, and I was eager to gain more of an insight into the kind of relationship she had Bailey. This was achieved really well through Lennie’s creative expressions. The idea of her leaving her poems, thoughts, or conversations scattered throughout the city or scrawled in the most unlikely of places was not only a cool idea, but it was actually quite moving because you could really feel what Lennie had lost. I also loved how this was incorporated into the story as it made the book visually appeasing. 

So The Sky Is Everywhere was an okay read but it just wasn’t quite for me. My expectations for what I thought this book would be about was a little different to the actual story itself.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Leave a Reply

